I Had No Idea How Amazing “After Bedtime” Was…

FullSizeRender

Here I am sitting on the couch, laptop on my lap, Martinelli’s Sparking Cider in a wine glass, chocolate cake partially eaten, and one of my Netflix shows on the TV.  My husband isn’t home.  Each Monday he goes to play on a Billiard’s team.

When the girls were younger, I dreaded Monday nights.  Often, I cried after he left because of the anxiety of the night ahead of me.  Bedtime alone was horrible.  Having two high needs twins meant being outnumbered for just about the entire day was enough to push me well past my breaking point.  Often, I ended up trapped on the couch or upstairs with screaming babies trying to get them to sleep.

After a year and a half of life though, we are finally starting to get the hang of things.  Their entire lives they never went to sleep for the night before 11pm.  It was horrible.  If they did go to sleep earlier it meant that I was trapped upstairs with them because they were impossible to transfer off the boob.

This was exhausting both mentally and physically.  Each Monday when he came home I was felt completely and totally broken.

But now, we have fallen into a pretty amazing routine.  We are awake between 7:30 and 8:30.  They nap from between 11:00am and 11:30am until 1:00pm to 2:00pm.  Then, they are typically asleep sometime in the 8:00pm hour.  Obviously, my daughters still nurse overnight.  So, after they nurse to sleep and I slip away (which is basically the equivalent of me being a ninja and I’ve gotten quite good at it) I am met with this new found freedom for 30-120 minutes before they wake to nurse again (which I can usually slip away again after nursing them back to sleep).  And those minutes are incredible.

I can sit without being asked to nurse or have my lap occupied by toddler butt’s.

I can eat whatever I want without having to share.

I can clean without being interrupted to save one twin from being beaten in the head with an object by the other twin.

I can sit in quiet.

I can discuss my day with my Husband (except on Mondays) without being interrupted all the time.

I can blog.

I can work on my word of 2016.

I can basically do whatever I wish.

It is a break which a Mom of high needs twins basically never gets.  Now, after a year and a half, I am getting that break typically twice a day almost everyday.  It is glorious.  And I am finding myself again in those precious minutes.

Leave a Reply

